Driver Education Courses
Basic Driver Education Course
Cost: $375.00 (30 classroom hours and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training. Test not included.)
Note: Due to liability, students must complete their driving permits prior to driving behind-the-wheel.
This 30-hour classroom course teaches the basic fundamentals required to safely operate a motor vehicle on Georgia's roadways and is required for a 16-year old to obtain a driver's license in accordance with "Joshua's Law", effective January 1, 2007. It covers signs and signals, road markings, vehicle control, right-of-way determination, and all necessary road rules.
The behind-the-wheel instruction consists of 6 hours in the car with the instructor. Depending on the level of driving experience the student has at the time of the course, the 6 hours will be divided into 1 or 2 hour sessions. This course will help to prepare each student for the state required driving test (parallel parking, reverse backing, emergency braking). They will experience driving through residential streets, highways (55 mph +), interstates, and traffic circles. Students will be picked up at home and delivered back there upon completion of their driving session. After each session, the instructor will discuss the student's strengths and areas that require more practice.
As per the schedule above, Riverside will prepare and assist students requiring permits in taking their permit test at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) on day 5 of the course. Driving sessions are typically scheduled between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday-Saturday.
Upon the completion of the Driver Training Course, each student will receive a certificate of completion to be provided to the insurance company.
*Georgia Parents: This class qualifies you for the $150 Georgia Income Tax Credit and Car Insurance Reductions!
Disclaimer: Due to the time constraint for each summer session and the beginning of fall semester, all students must complete summer driver training in accordance with the session completion date(s). If a student has not completed their course requirements (30 hours of classroom, driving permit, or 6 hours behind-the-wheel driving) during the session period, parents may request an extension; however, no students will be extended past early August due to Riverside school year activities. In addition, based on the student need (classroom, permit, or driving) and extension, a $100 fee will be charged for the additional instruction.
Behind-the-wheel Driving Course (Driving Only)
Cost: $60.00 (1 hour driving)
For most teens, the combination of this course and practicing with their parents provides an ample amount of behind-the-wheel instruction for the student to be confident behind the wheel of an automobile. However, if parents, students, or the instructors feel that the student needs more instruction, we will gladly provide additional sessions based on an hourly fee of $60.
The time of the lesson begins when the instructor picks up the student at home or another location. During the first lesson the instructor will be teaching and evaluating the student's driving. At the completion of this lesson, the instructor will present a recommendation outlining approximately how many lessons are needed to enable the student to pass the Georgia Department of Driver Services road test and become a safe, confident, and defensive driver. Requirements for ANY person, teenager or adult, to obtain an initial Georgia driver's license changed on January 1, 2002. Now, under O.C.G.A. 40-5-22 option (B), ALL applicants must complete a minimum of 40 hours of driving experience, 6 hours of which must be at night. All or a portion of those 40 hours can be obtained at Riverside's Driver School with hourly lessons or package programs. Parents of applicants under the age of 18 will be required to sign an affidavit at the Department of Driver Services attesting that these requirements have been completed. Individuals over 18 years of age can self certify by signing the required affidavit at the DDS.
30-Hour Driver Education Class (Classroom Only - No Driving Lessons)
Cost: $90 (30 classroom hours)
This program consists of thirty hours of classroom training only. No Driving Lessons are included. Classroom ONLY does NOT qualify you for the insurance discount or tax credit. You must also complete the 47-page Parent/Teen Driving Guide to be in compliance with Joshua's Law. You may access this guide on our home page or obtain from the Dept. of Driver Services.
- Students and parents must sign Riverside's Driver Contract.
- Payment is expected during the administrative phase on day one of the course. Acceptable forms of payment include: cash, personal check (in-state ONLY), money order, debit, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover.
RMA Switchboard: (770) 532-6251
Driver's Training Administrator: Mrs. Jo Ann Cripps
Phone: (770) 532-6251, ext. 2115
Lead Driving Instructor: Mr. Mike Hutch
Cell Phone: (706) 870-5668
Georgia Driver Training Certification Code: #606